The Myth of the Willie Lynch Letter

Despite never hearing about it before the advent of the internet, after seeing references to the Willie Lynch Letter throughout social media, I decided to look into it. It didn’t take long at all for me to venture from the forced nature of the text in search of supporting documentation. Not to my surprise, there is none.

Who believes this speech was actually delivered on the banks of the St James River in 1712? Needless to say, the more I read, the angrier I became. But I had problems believing I was reading credible “documentation.” I do realize some of the practices detailed in the so-called “speech” (which is referred to as a letter) could possibly have taken place. But about half-way through, I began wondering about the validity of the speech itself.

Willie Lynch Cover Page004 copy
Page 5 of this booklet actually tells the reader that he is about to read a “story.”

At that point, I also did a cursory search just to see if others shared my reservations. One objection I read says that some of the words and phrases used in the speech were not in use in 1712. I purchased a commentary at the same time entitled, Breaking the Curse of Willie Lynch: The Science of Slave Psychology by Alvin Morrow. Despite concrete findings (linked to below) that this “speech” was no more than an attempt to get our attention, I’ll make time to get through it soon. (Yes, I tend to read more than one non-fiction title at a time — as I’m still getting through The Destruction of Black Civilization.)

If you can’t obtain a copy, here are two PDF’s. I still feel compelled to remind you that online claims need to be validated. Anyone with an e-mail address or a social media account can disseminate an idea by clicking SEND, POST, or any equivalent.

I was fortunate to find, not only the following essays unraveling the truths behind the Willie Lynch Letter, but also an audio recording of the author (Prof Manu Ampim) discussing the discovery.

I’m sure this “letter” accomplished what it was designed to do — bring our ancestors’ cruel treatment to the consciousness of those who were unaware. My problem with it is twofold:

  1. To those with limited tendencies to think through an idea, it only serves to fan the flame. Note I used the word, “tendencies” — not “abilities.” I do realize we are a highly-intelligent people. But this type has the tendency to “go off half-cocked” — not having all the facts. This can only make an already seemingly-insurmountable problem worse.
  2. The history which was hidden from us for centuries has been desecrated by one of our own. A true scholar of African history would be the last person I’d expect to assault the minds of his people with fictitious garbage. That is what I call stuff I can’t use.

Instead of responsibly sharing results of his research as countless others have done, the originator of this propaganda felt the need to “dumb down” details regarding the enslavement of our ancestors. This is equivalent to the “spoonful of sugar” that helps the medicine go down. We’re tired of sugar-coating. Enough of that is being dispensed from pulpits throughout the diaspora. But that’s a whole ‘nother post.

There’s an addendum in my copy captioned, “Food for Thought from the Internet” and it begins, ‘Dear Black Americans:’ I can only hope that the overly patronizing tone is a hint that the “letter” (signed, “All Other Americans”) is merely an exercise to prepare the uninformed to receive knowledge.

Now, I can’t wait to read and research How to Make a Negro Christian.  Needless to say, I’m equally suspicious of this title.

Leave a Reply

